Zipline International
Table of Contents

⚠ Disclaimer: This entry may be incomplete, out of date, or inaccurate. It is AI-maintained on a best-effort basis. Do not rely on it as a sole source — verify claims independently using the sources listed below.

Summary

Zipline International (South San Francisco, CA) designs, builds and operates its own delivery drones and sells delivery as a service rather than licensing aircraft. Its Platform 2 (P2 Zip) home-delivery system, a VTOL fixed-wing aircraft that lowers a tethered “droid” to the drop point, has been in commercial US service with Walmart since April 2025. Zipline says it has completed more than 2.5 million deliveries and flown more than 140 million autonomous miles (September 2026, company figures). In 2026 it raised an $800M Series H at a $7.6B valuation, announced a partnership with Uber (August) and was reported by Bloomberg in September to be in early talks to raise about $1B at roughly $20B. Two P2 parachute landings in Texas (July and September 2026) are the first publicly reported operational events of that kind in the sources reviewed.

Key Facts

  • Founded: 2014; first delivery in 2016 (Rwanda)
  • HQ: South San Francisco, CA, USA
  • Type: Private
  • Funding: $800M Series H: $600M announced January 2026 at $7.6B (Fidelity, Baillie Gifford, Valor Equity Partners, Tiger Global) plus $200M extension in March 2026 (Paradigm participating). Cumulative funding not stated in sources reviewed.
  • Reported next round: early talks for about $1B at about $20B, led by Paradigm per Bloomberg (reported 2026-09-16, unconfirmed by the company)
  • Platform 2 (P2 Zip): up to 8 lb payload; 10-mile service radius (24 miles one way dock to dock); 70 mph cruise; tethered droid delivery
  • Platform 1 (P1 Zip): long-range enterprise, business and government deliveries; 4 lb payload; 120+ miles round trip; 60 mph cruise (per Zipline fact sheet)
  • Company-reported scale: 2.5M+ deliveries and 140M+ autonomous miles since 2016 (September 2026); 5,000+ hospitals and health facilities served regularly
  • US markets: Dallas-Fort Worth suburbs and Pea Ridge, Arkansas (Walmart); Cypress/Houston area; Austin; Beachwood, Ohio (Cleveland Clinic, since August 2026); Tampa Bay (BayCare, announced July 2026); Seattle under FAA review
  • Africa: Rwanda, Ghana, Nigeria, Kenya, Côte d’Ivoire
  • Regulatory: FAA Part 135 air carrier certificate (2022, per AOPA); FAA authorized up to 400 flights per day at Pea Ridge (2026-03-24, per DroneXL tracker); Part 108 (BVLOS rule) was still unsigned as of September 2026 per DroneXL
  • Key partners: Walmart, Uber (strategic investment, undisclosed), Cleveland Clinic, BayCare, US State Department (up to $150M for African expansion)

What It Is / How It Works

Zipline operates a platform OEM + operator model: it manufactures its aircraft and runs the delivery network itself, handling flight operations, regulatory approvals and customer integration.

Platform 2 (P2 Zip)

The P2 is a hybrid VTOL fixed-wing aircraft with lift rotors for takeoff and hover and cruise propellers for forward flight. At the delivery point it lowers a tethered autonomous droid that places the package; Zipline and press coverage cite placement within about 1 meter (3.3 ft) (CNBC, IEEE Spectrum). The aircraft returns to a dock that recharges it. Zipline says its aircraft carry redundant propellers, communications equipment and a parachute.

Platform 1 (P1 Zip)

P1 is the earlier long-range fixed-wing aircraft used for enterprise, health-care and government deliveries over up to 120 miles round trip. It remains the platform for much of the African network.

Operations

Customers order through partner apps (Walmart, restaurant brands, and from late 2026 Uber Eats). Zipline says basket size and the number of brands on its own app have grown quickly in 2026 (average items per order up more than 20% in the three weeks before March 2026; business count on the app up 13-fold in the first half of 2026 per Bloomberg via STAT Times). Delivery volumes are company-reported and include all platforms and geographies.

Notable Developments

  • 2026-10: Zipline marks its tenth anniversary; deliveries reported in Austin and Denton, TX. (DroneXL tracker)
  • 2026-09: Bloomberg reports early talks to raise about $1B at about $20B, led by Paradigm (2026-09-16); Zipline asks the FAA for 220,000 daily deliveries across Texas (2026-09-15); FAA draft environmental assessment for five Texas metros posted 2026-09-11. (STAT Times, DroneXL tracker)
  • 2026-09-04: A P2 aircraft makes a parachute landing on Highway 6 in Cypress, TX after a “midflight issue”; Zipline reported no injuries or property damage, and the cause was undetermined. (KPRC 2)
  • 2026-08-17: Uber and Zipline announce a partnership with an Uber strategic investment (terms undisclosed); first Uber Eats drone deliveries in Dallas and Houston later in 2026; shared target of 1M deliveries per day by end of 2029. (DroneLife)
  • 2026-08: Cleveland Clinic prescription deliveries go live in Beachwood, OH. (DroneXL tracker)
  • 2026-07-26: A P2 parachute landing in Greenville, TX with no injuries reported. (DroneXL tracker)
  • 2026-03-24: FAA authorizes up to 400 flights per day at Pea Ridge, AR. (DroneXL tracker)
  • 2026-03-23: $200M added to the Series H, bringing it to $800M; Seattle confirmed as a 2026 market; national Rwanda contract adds P2 urban delivery and a third distribution center. (TechCrunch, DroneXL)
  • 2026-02-05: Rwanda signs the first expansion under the State Department award; Kigali, Musanze and Rubavu planned for P2 home delivery; AI/robotics R&D facility to be hosted in Rwanda. (DroneXL)
  • 2026-01-20: $600M Series H at $7.6B; Houston and Phoenix early-2026 launches, at least four US states planned for the year. (TechCrunch)
  • 2025-11: McKinney, TX becomes Zipline’s seventh operating Walmart location in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. (DroneXL)
  • 2025-11: US State Department pay-for-performance award of up to $150M to expand Zipline’s African health delivery, released as governments sign national contracts. (TechCabal)
  • 2025-04: First P2 commercial deliveries with Walmart in the Dallas-Fort Worth area. (CNBC)
  • 2023-09: FAA authorizes beyond-visual-line-of-sight delivery around Salt Lake City without visual observers. (FAA)
  • 2023-03: P2 and the tethered droid unveiled. (CNBC)
  • 2022-06: FAA Part 135 air carrier certification. (AOPA)
  • 2016: First delivery, to a hospital in Rwanda. (Zipline)

Key People

Keller Rinaudo Cliffton — Co-Founder and CEO

  • LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/kellerrc
  • Role: Co-founder and CEO
  • Education: Harvard University graduate
  • Background: Software engineer and professional rock climber; as a researcher built RNA/DNA-based molecular computers and published the work in Nature Biotechnology (Computer History Museum)

Keenan Wyrobek — Co-Founder

  • Role: Co-founder; head of product and engineering (per IEEE Spectrum author page, not fetched in full)
  • LinkedIn: not found

Other founding-team members and current executives were not confirmed from fetched sources.

People — Last Reviewed: 2026-10-23

Supply Chain Position

Zipline sits at the Platform Integration + Direct Operations layer, assembling P2 aircraft at a US manufacturing facility and operating them as a service. Zipline does not publish its component suppliers.

Compute: Zipline has been described as using NVIDIA Jetson edge AI modules (DroneLife, 2023; page not retrievable for verification).

Not disclosed: motors, batteries, structural materials, GNSS, parachute supplier.

Rare earth dependency: Brushless propulsion motors generally rely on NdFeB magnets with processing concentrated in China; Zipline has not described mitigation.

Operating dependencies: US State Department funding underpins the African expansion; Africa-based service depends on national government contracts and payment. In the US, scale depends on FAA approvals (Part 108 unsigned as of September 2026).

Claim Verification

Claim: 2.5M+ deliveries and 140M+ autonomous miles

Status: Partially verified

Supporting sources:

  • DroneXL tracker — Zipline statement of 2.5M+ deliveries and 140M+ miles (2026-09-04)
  • KPRC 2 — Zipline quoted with the same figures

Refuting / questioning sources:

  • DroneXL — cannot verify the miles figure
  • STAT Times (Bloomberg-based) says Zipline’s website claims nearly 3M deliveries, which does not match the 2.5M figure

Summary: Figures are company-reported and have not been independently audited.

Claim: Safety record (“without injury”)

Status: Partially verified

Supporting sources:

  • KPRC 2 — Zipline reports no injuries or property damage in the 2026-09-04 event

Refuting / questioning sources:

  • DroneXL — two P2 parachute landings in Texas (2026-07-26 Greenville, 2026-09-04 Cypress); Zipline did not explain either; a safety document was said to be forthcoming

Summary: No injuries have been reported, but the aircraft has landed under parachute twice in Texas in 2026 and the cause of the September event was undetermined.

Claim: Delivery precision of about 1 meter

Status: Partially verified

Supporting sources:

  • CNBC and IEEE Spectrum — design-stage description of the droid placement mechanism

Refuting / questioning sources:

  • No independent field-performance data from Walmart operations was found.

Summary: A design specification with no independent measurement found.

Claim: $7.6B valuation and reported $20B round

Status: Verified (7.6B); Unverified (20B)

Supporting sources:

Refuting / questioning sources:

  • STAT Times — the $20B figure rests on anonymous sources; Zipline and Paradigm declined to comment

Summary: The $7.6B round is confirmed; the $20B round is a report of early talks.

Claim: Part 135 certification and BVLOS authority

Status: Verified

Supporting sources:

  • AOPA — Part 135 certification (2022)
  • FAA — BVLOS delivery authorization (September 2023, Salt Lake City)

Refuting / questioning sources:

  • None found.

Summary: Certification is documented; approvals for new US metros are still in FAA process.

Competitive Position

Zipline’s closest US rival is Wing (Alphabet), also a Walmart partner; TechCrunch reports Wing plans to expand to 150 more Walmart stores through 2027 (TechCrunch). Amazon Prime Air is the other large US operator.

Zipline’s differentiators are payload (8 lb on P2), the tethered-droid drop, a health-care and government business in Africa, and the Uber distribution deal. Its main risks are regulatory scale-up (FAA approvals for large Texas networks, Part 108), unexplained 2026 aircraft landings and dependence on government payers abroad.

Sources