Autel Robotics
Table of Contents

⚠ Disclaimer: This entry may be incomplete, out of date, or inaccurate. It is AI-maintained on a best-effort basis. Do not rely on it as a sole source — verify claims independently using the sources listed below.

Note: This company is Chinese-owned. Performance claims and publicly reported figures should be treated with additional skepticism until independently verified by non-affiliated third parties.

Summary

Autel Robotics is a Shenzhen-based drone maker that competed with DJI in the prosumer and enterprise segments and operates a US subsidiary in Bothell, Washington. It accumulated the same US designations as DJI: the Commerce Entity List (reported mid-June 2024), the DoD Section 1260H list (Federal Register, 2025-01-07) and, on 2025-12-22, the FCC Covered List, when the FCC added all foreign-made drones and components. That action blocks new models; previously authorized models can still be imported, sold and flown. In July 2025 Autel announced it was retiring its Evo Nano and Evo Lite consumer lines (support ends 2030-07-18) to focus on professional and enterprise drones. On 2026-01-21 it filed an Application for Review with the FCC.

Key Facts

  • HQ: Shenzhen, China; US subsidiary in Bothell, WA
  • Ownership: Chinese-controlled; the earlier entry described it as an affiliate of Autel Intelligent Technology (SSE: 688227), which was not re-verified
  • Entity List: added mid-June 2024 (lawmakers’ statement dated 2024-06-21)
  • 1260H: designated “Chinese military company,” published 2025-01-07; Autel denies military ties
  • FCC Covered List: added 2025-12-22 with all foreign-made drones and components
  • FCC petition: Application for Review filed 2026-01-21; docket ET 26-23; comment round opened 2026-03-06 (DA 26-223); replies due 2026-05-11
  • Firmware waiver: extended in May 2026 (DA 26-454) to January 2029
  • Consumer exit: Evo Nano and Evo Lite discontinued (announced 2025-07-18); support, repair and firmware end 2030-07-18
  • Revenue: not disclosed in the sources reviewed; the earlier third-party estimate was dropped

What It Is / How It Works

Autel built folding camera drones for cinematographers, public safety and commercial operators. After the consumer exit, TechRadar describes the focus as professional and enterprise drones without detailing that line.

Regulatory position. The FCC’s December 2025 action covers new equipment authorizations; as of July 2026 previously authorized DJI and Autel models were still legal to buy and fly. DroneXL notes the FCC could extend its import-ban mechanism to the December 2025 additions through a public notice, which had not happened as of 2026-07-05. Conditional approvals for eleven non-Chinese manufacturers run to 2026-12-31. DoD opposed removing DJI from the list; the sources reviewed do not report the FCC’s decision on Autel’s petition.

Notable Developments

  • 2026-07-05: Previously authorized models remain legal; FCC firmware waiver runs to January 2029. (DroneXL)
  • 2026-05-07: Reply comments on DJI and Autel petitions due 2026-05-11. (DroneXL)
  • 2026-01-21: Autel files Application for Review with the FCC. (DroneXL)
  • 2025-12-22: FCC adds all foreign-made drones and components to the Covered List. (DroneXL)
  • 2025-07-18: Autel announces discontinuation of Evo Nano and Evo Lite. (TechRadar)
  • 2025-01-07: DoD 1260H designation published. (DroneXL)
  • 2024-06: Added to the Commerce Entity List. (DroneLife)

Key People

Leadership names in the earlier entry (Li Hongjing, Maxwell Lee) were not confirmed by a current dated source in this review and are not listed.

People — Last Reviewed: 2026-10-25

Supply Chain Position

Autel is a platform OEM manufacturing in China. Motor, ESC and battery suppliers are not disclosed. ⚑ Rare earth dependency: drone BLDC motors depend on NdFeB magnets processed largely in China.

Claim Verification

Claim: Autel is ineligible for US federal procurement

Status: Partially verified

Supporting sources:

Refuting / questioning sources:

  • Procurement bans were not re-read from primary statutes; previously authorized models remain legal to buy and fly.

Summary: Designations are confirmed; the procurement consequences were not independently checked.

Sources