ProLogium Technology
Table of Contents

⚠ Disclaimer: This entry may be incomplete, out of date, or inaccurate. It is AI-maintained on a best-effort basis. Do not rely on it as a sole source — verify claims independently using the sources listed below.

Summary

ProLogium Technology is a Taiwanese solid-state battery developer, founded in 2006 by its own account, that says it introduced a 100% ceramic separator architecture in 2013. At CES 2026 it announced a “Superfluidized All-Inorganic” lithium ceramic battery with company-reported performance claims that have no published third-party data. In July 2026 it agreed a proposed Nasdaq SPAC merger (TDAC) and in September Mercedes-Benz began testing its Gen4 cells. It broke ground on a gigafactory in Dunkirk, France in February 2026 (about €5.2 billion, up to 48 GWh eventual capacity), with first-phase operations scheduled for 2028.

Key Facts

  • Founded: 2006 (company statement)
  • Type: Private; proposed business combination with Translational Development Acquisition Corp (Nasdaq: TDAC) announced 2026-07-28, about $3.8B pre-money valuation, $50M primary capital committed by existing shareholders as part of a larger raise; closing date not stated (ProLogium)
  • Mercedes-Benz: collaborating since 2016; invested in 2022 and holds a board seat per electrive; testing Gen4 cells electrically, thermally and for safety from September 2026, with no series-production decision or timeline (electrive)
  • Current production: Taoke Gigafactory, Taiwan (company says GWh-scale production validated)
  • French support: subsidy package of up to €1.375B (company release)
  • Technology: oxide-based, evolving to a “Superfluidized All-Inorganic” architecture with an all-ceramic separator and all-silicon anode (company description)
  • Claimed conductivity: 57 mS/cm at room temperature, stated as about 5× liquid electrolytes and sulfide electrolytes; no test conditions or third-party data given (ProLogium)
  • Other company claims: 860 Wh/L, 60–80% recharge in 4–6 minutes, operation without high external pressure, no thermal runaway in ARC testing (all company statements)
  • Dunkirk gigafactory: groundbreaking February 2026; roughly €5.2 billion; first phase about 0.8 GWh with operations in 2028, 4 GWh by 2030 and 12 GWh by 2032 planned, expandable to 48 GWh depending on demand; about 3,000 direct and 12,000 indirect jobs expected by 2030; supported by “France 2030” and the “Green Industry Act” (Battery-News Feb 2026, Battery-News Jul 2026)
  • Named partners (July 2026 report): Mercedes-Benz, Mahle and Rimac; Mercedes’ specific role is not described there (Battery-News Jul 2026). Earlier-stated partners: Mitsubishi Chemical Group (materials), FEV Group (module engineering), CEA (recyclability)
  • Applications: EV automotive primary; e-bikes, humanoid robots and AI data-center storage also cited

What It Is / How It Works

ProLogium is one of the few solid-state battery companies that has been building and refining the technology for two full decades, giving it a depth of manufacturing experience that most competitors lack. The company’s original platform used an oxide-based ceramic electrolyte with a 100% ceramic separator — a configuration it was first to commercialize at any scale in 2013.

The latest architecture, announced as “Superfluidized All-Inorganic” at CES 2026, integrates three components: a superfluidized all-inorganic solid-state electrolyte, an all-ceramic separator, and an all-silicon anode. The claimed ionic conductivity of 57 mS/cm at room temperature is a headline figure — conventional liquid electrolytes and sulfide solid-state materials typically achieve 10–12 mS/cm, making the claim roughly 5× higher. If reproducible in production cells, this would largely close the conductivity gap that has long been the main limitation of oxide-based solid-state designs.

The “superfluidized” descriptor refers to a processing innovation that gives the otherwise brittle ceramic electrolyte improved interfacial contact with electrodes — traditionally the weak point of oxide-based cells. No peer-reviewed or third-party data on this architecture was found as of October 2026.

The Dunkirk gigafactory is ProLogium’s first overseas GWh-scale facility. The plant will make fourth-generation all-inorganic lithium ceramic batteries. Groundbreaking took place in February 2026 and the first phase is scheduled to start operations in 2028; the French government supports the project, and ProLogium says it is prioritizing locally sourced equipment (Battery-News).

Notable Developments

  • 2026-09-25: Mercedes-Benz begins testing ProLogium Gen4 “Superfluidized Inorganic” lithium ceramic cells at its own facilities and external institutes; no energy density or charging figures disclosed, no vehicle platform or series-production decision. electrive reports Dunkirk phase one at 4 GWh per year by 2030 and up to 44 GWh long term (Battery-News reported 48 GWh). Mercedes also holds a stake in Factorial. (electrive)
  • 2026-07-28: ProLogium and Translational Development Acquisition Corp (TDAC) announce $50M committed primary capital from existing ProLogium shareholders supporting a proposed business combination at about $3.8B pre-money; proceeds for scaling production, Dunkirk construction (French subsidy up to €1.375B) and expansion into data centers, aerospace and robotics. (ProLogium)
  • 2026-07: Battery-News reports the Dunkirk project has moved from planning to construction, with initial capacity expected by 2028 and ProLogium aiming to install its own equipment there by 2028. (Battery-News)
  • 2026-02: Groundbreaking at the Port of Dunkirk, ProLogium’s first manufacturing site outside Taiwan. (Battery-News)
  • 2026-01 (CES): ProLogium marks its 20th anniversary and unveils the Superfluidized All-Inorganic architecture with company-reported performance figures. (ProLogium)
  • 2025-08 (IAA Mobility): European mass-production plan and partner roadmap announced. (GlobeNewswire)
  • 2013: Company says it introduced a 100% ceramic separator architecture.

Key People

Vincent Yang — Founder and CEO

  • LinkedIn: not found
  • Role: Founder and CEO; has led ProLogium since founding in 2006; primary technical and commercial spokesperson; personally represented ProLogium at Choose France summit (invited by President Macron) after the €5.2B Dunkirk announcement
  • Education: Not confirmed from public sources
  • Career (reverse-chronological):
    • ProLogium Technology (2006–present): Founder and CEO; built the company over 20 years from a small Taiwanese startup to the builder of the world’s first giga-level solid-state lithium ceramic battery factory (Taoyuan, Taiwan)
  • Notes: Yang is unusual among solid-state battery CEOs in having spent his entire career at a single company he founded. He built ProLogium before the solid-state battery space attracted external capital, giving him two decades of institutional knowledge that competitors are still accumulating. No LinkedIn profile findable in English-language searches; he is most visible through press coverage and European government engagement (France Choose summit, EU investment announcements). No prior employer overlap with other documented founders identified.

Key Partner Organizations (not individuals — include for context):

  • Mitsubishi Chemical Group — Materials development partner
  • FEV Group (Germany) — Cell-to-module engineering partner; showcased LLCB module at CES 2026
  • CEA (France) — French national R&D institution; partnering on removable and recyclable solid-state battery modules

Vincent Yang’s role is as of the previous review and was not re-verified; verify current status.

People — Last Reviewed: 2026-10-20

Supply Chain Position

ProLogium operates at the Cell Manufacturing layer with its oxide-based solid-state cells. Unlike sulfide-based competitors (QuantumScape, Solid Power, Idemitsu/Toyota), ProLogium’s ceramic electrolyte does not require lithium sulfide as a precursor — its oxide chemistry uses different ceramic precursors (generally zirconia, LLZO-type materials, or proprietary compositions). Upstream materials partners include Mitsubishi Chemical Group (materials development) and FEV Group (module engineering). Mercedes-Benz is named as a partner in July 2026 coverage; its precise role is not described. Manufacturing is to be anchored at the Dunkirk, France gigafactory (groundbreaking February 2026, first-phase operations 2028). No sulfur/Li₂S supply chain risk applies; lithium metal for the anode is the primary upstream mineral requirement. Ceramic oxide precursor sourcing is not publicly disclosed.

Claim Verification

Claim: 57 mS/cm ionic conductivity at room temperature

Status: Unverified (company-reported; no independent peer-reviewed confirmation found as of October 2026)

Supporting sources:

Refuting / questioning sources:

  • No refutation found; 57 mS/cm would substantially exceed the best published sulfide electrolytes (~10–25 mS/cm), making independent verification particularly important before treating the figure as established

Summary: Headline conductivity figure is self-reported at a product announcement with no peer-reviewed or third-party data as of this writing. Worth watching for published data or OEM validation reports.


Claim: First to commercialize 100% ceramic separator (2013)

Status: Unverified (self-reported “first”)

Supporting sources:

  • ProLogium — states it introduced the world’s first next-generation architecture with a 100% ceramic separator in 2013

Refuting / questioning sources:

  • None found; no external source in this review confirms the “first” claim.

Summary: The 2013 date is a company statement; the “world’s first” framing is not independently confirmed.

Sources